Star Wars Thrawn Books in Order

Thrawn: Treason, the latest Timothy Zahn book to feature Grand Admiral Thrawn, will be released on July 23rd, 2019. But like most of the Star Wars universe, the book release date never matches the actual timeline of the story. So what are the actual Star Wars Thrawn books in order? 

Below I have included the Star Wars Thrawn books in order. All of them were written by Timothy Zahn. Only books that have Thrawn as a main character are included. I have also included the release date for each book. The books are split into three sections: Star Wars: Thrawn Trilogy, Thrawn Trilogy, and the Hand of Thrawn Duology.

Star Wars: Thrawn Trilogy 

These are considered a trilogy and were released in chronological order, but were also written to stand on their own. These books explain Thrawn’s rise to Grand Admiral.  The first book takes place around 8 years after Revenge of the Sith and 11 years before Star Wars: A New Hope. 

Thrawn Trilogy

Built upon the original Star Wars movies (i.e., episodes 4-6) this was the first introduction to the Chiss Grand Admiral Thrawn. Set five years after the Return of the Jedi, the books feature the same characters as the movies with the addition of three main newcomers; Grand Admiral Thrawn, Mara Jade, and Jorrus C’baoth.

The Hand of Thrawn Duology

These books take place after the Thrawn trilogy and wrap up the original storyline. The books take place about 14 years after the Return of the Jedi

Write to me:

1 thought on “Star Wars Thrawn Books in Order”

Leave a Comment